Here we go again …

For my e-tutoring ‘experience’ I have decided to do something along the lines of the last module’s e-portfolio activity.  Although it will not embrace quite as many different technologies and I anticipate will only be used by a small number of students.

The reason why I have chosen this is partly because I really enjoyed trying all the different technologies and blogging about them and partly because I would like to offer something similar to our students as a pre-induction “How the Internet can help your studies” type course.  Because the run-up to the start of term can be a little (ahem!) hectic, I don’t want anything that is going to be too onorous  on myself or the new intake of students.  We certainly don’t want to put them off before they even start their studies!  But I hope that the course will encourage them to investigate technology and how it can be used to help them with their studies.

So.  How am I going to structure this course?  Here goes:

The title would be “How to use the Internet to help with your studies”.  I will email students to see if anybody would be interested (I should get one or two takers!).  Then an email would go to these students each week for 4-5 weeks asking them to complete a task (I have no Unilearn module or other means of contact).

Weekly tasks:

·         Week 1 – Blog: Start off with  “Hello world”  who you are and what you want to take away from this (establish relationship with me and peers).  Email me the blog address and I will link them all through mine.  Then ask students to blog about the various ones they try – what they like/don’t like/found difficult/easy

·         Week 2 – Twitter / Facebook: compare and contrast.  Follow UCBLIB, UCBForum

·         Week 3 – You Tube / Flickr: blog about which would they find most useful and what do they like about it

·         Week 4 – Unimail: to share documents with peers.  Upload a test document to Skydrive and share it with me.  I will make a comment, ask them to do something else within the document.

·         Week 5 – Discussion Groups – Post a message to the UCB Discussion Forum, reply to someone else’s post

–          Library Game – Get enrolled, withdraw books, review a book

I would send out an email with instructions each Monday asking the students to perform particular tasks e.g. set up twitter account and tweet their blog, find a video on YouTube and post the link in the blog etc.  I would also offer a face to face session for those that need help getting started with the different technologies.

Feedback and relationship with the student would be created through interaction with Blog, emails, twitter, unimail, discussion group.

So this is my plan of action.  I just need to get it put together now and find a couple of students to use as guinea pigs.

Leave a comment